Petition Update – Please Read!

Hi everyone.

If you’re reading this, you already know I put up a change.org petition a few days ago to get the NHL to finally stop ignoring the huge problem of its players committing acts of domestic violence and sexual assault. A lot of you have signed already, and I appreciate your support more than I can say.

Yesterday I spoke with a couple of that website’s employees, who contacted me because they believe the petition has a real chance of succeeding(!). Their job is to do everything they can to make that happen, including (as I understand it) a good deal of promotion and publicity. The first thing they wanted to do, though, was adjust the writing to a style that has proven successful in getting traction on the site.

That means the wording of the petition has changed.

The spirit is, in my opinion, exactly the same. I read their revision, made a handful of edits to it, and approved the new version only when I was satisfied that it still carried exactly the same message as the original. Still, I wanted to make sure that everyone who signed the original version knows that the structure of the petition is now different.

Here’s a link to the new (and now permanent) text. You absolutely have the option of withdrawing your support, although of course I sincerely hope you like the revised version as much as I do and continue to back the petition.

Thanks, as always, for reading! Feel free to ask any questions in the comments section or address them to @mgeschwind on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

